Friday Favourites #6

For my Friday Favourite today, I decided to focus on something I haven’t focused on in these Friday Favourites posts before, a favourite genre. Over the last couple of years, Dystopian fiction has become one of my favourite genres of books. We all know what dystopians are by now, books that focus on a twisted and horrible society, and the young heroines/heroes who realise who cruel and unjust their society is, and then try to rebel and fight the system. They usually take elements from our contemporary society and extrapolate it into a post-apocolyptic scenario. I, probably like many other teenagers, first became interested in dystopian fiction after reading The Hunger Games. I loved those books, and devoured them over the course of one easter holiday.

I had in fact read dystopian fiction years before, when I read Noughts and Crosses which describes a kind of dystopian society (whites are the inferior race rather than blacks), and I loved that book, but after I finished the books in that series, I hadn’t read any dystopia for a while, I didn’t actively seek any out, but once I finished The Hunger Games, I started looking for more dystopian books because I really enjoyed it, and it’s lead me to some of my favourite books. Dystopias obviously share many similar tropes, a world in disarray, teenagers trying to fight the system, usually a romance/love triangle between the main male and female characters (although that’s more of a YA thing than a dystopian thing), but what I love about dystopias is that in the same framework, you can get many vastly different worlds, and different ideas about problems in society, so whilst they share many similar tropes, no two dystopias are exactly the same. I just love the whole idea of the “world gone wrong” and that there are recognisable traits of our own society in them, and that they always get you thinking about big societal issues.

The characters are usually just the types that I love as well, strong badass females and snarky, brave, incredibly loyal guys. There’s such a wide variety to choose from as well, because of the different premises for the “world gone wrong” and because it’s such a popular market right now, there are lot of YA authors coming up with new and interesting worlds. There’s a lot of action, and usually great character building and world building, everything that I love in a book. For the most part, I’ve really enjoyed the books I’ve read in this genre so far, and I hope to read more great dystopias in the future.

My Favourite Dystopias:

 

image imageimageimageimageimageimageimageimage

So what are your favourite dystopias? Do you like it? Do you not like it and if so why? What are your favourite genres? Do you like any of the books pictured above? And most importantly, do you have any dystopia recommendations for me?

I will have another Friday Favourites for you next week, but tomorrow is Sidekick Showcase Saturday, so look out for that post!

 

4 thoughts on “Friday Favourites #6

  1. Danni Mae May 24, 2015 / 8:46 pm

    I see a lot of people say “I’m so sick of dystopia!” and I just have to bite my tongue because this is a genre I just can’t get enough of! I don’t even care if they’re similar; I love them all. Can you tell me anything about Pure? I’ve never seen it before.

    • iloveheartlandx May 24, 2015 / 9:04 pm

      Me too! I love the dystopian genre, and I think there’s a lot of scope for different ideas, even if they do share similar tropes. Pure takes place after this nuclear apocolypse, basically the world is split into the chosen few who escaped unharmed into this protective dome, and the rest of the world who were scarred by the apocalypse and fused to various objects that they were holding onto at the time the apocalypse hits. You have a female main character who is a wretch (from outside the dome) and a male main character who is a Pure (from inside the dome), and no there is no romance between them. It’s a trilogy, and revolves around them trying to find a cure for the fusings of the wretches. That’s a very simplified explanation, it’s a lot more complicated than that, but that’s kind of the gist of the trilogy.

      • Danni Mae May 27, 2015 / 6:21 pm

        Wow- sounds horrifying. I love it! Definitely adding this one to my TBR. Can see some prejudice going on in here too (correct me if I’m wrong) between Pures and Wretches (The names alone kinda hint at that) which must be interesting!

      • iloveheartlandx May 27, 2015 / 6:48 pm

        Oh there definitely is, it’s very interesting.

Leave a Reply

