Monday Recommendations #5

For today’s Monday Recommendations, I decided to focus on realistic fiction, those stories that seem like they could be real life, with characters dealing with real life problems in real life situations. I have to admit, I am more partial to fantasies, dystopias, books that do not take place in a real life setting but I have read some realistic fiction that I have really loved, so here are my five recommendations for books in this genre.

1. Thirteen Reasons Why-I love this book, it’s one of my favourites. I love how the author shows the effects of little things, and how these little things taken together can spiral out of control leading to suicide. Some people may say that Hannah is selfish but I think Jay Asher did a great job of showing how not just one moment leads to suicide, it can be the culmination of a lot of small moments. I loved the audiotape aspect of the book, I thought it was really original and brought something special to it.

2. Hate List-Jennifer Brown-This books is not about the shooting, not really, it is about the aftermath of the shooting and how the characters manage to deal with something so tragic. I think there’s someone that everyone can relate to in this book, whether you are an outcast like Val, or a popular girl like Jessica. Plus bullying affects a lot of people, so there is also that aspect. Brown handles the subject matter very maturely and sensitively, and I think there is a lot to take from this book.

3. The Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants-Quite a light read, most suited for summer but it definitely covers a lot of issues that teenage girls can relate to, and if you like books with strong female friendships then it doesn’t get much better than this. It’s a breath of fresh air to read about girls who truly love each other and aren’t at each other’s throats all the time (female friendships are something I feel I sorely lack in my reading diet!).

4. Dangerous Girls-Abigail Haas-One of the tags this is under on goodreads is realistic fiction so I’ll go with it.  It’s a psychological exploration of a twisted friendship between two teen girls at it’s heart, and there are plenty of realistic issues explored throughout this murder mystery. And oh that ending? I swear this book is worth reading just for the end when you realise who throughly Abigail Haas has manipulated you, twisted your brain into thinking something when the exact opposite is true. This book is so worth the read!

5. Ballet Shoes-Noel Streatfield-Okay, this one is maybe for slightly younger readers, but it’s one of my favourite books. It’s a lovely story, of three orphans in 1930’s Britain being trained to perform on the stage. The three girls are all so different, which is part of what makes the story so interesting and it’s great to see how their relationship as sisters changes as they grow up. The three girls are very relatable and the story still stands up, even given the length of time it has been since it was first published.

So those are my recommendations for today, tomorrow (well technically later on today!) look out for my Top Ten Tuesday post and I will be back with another one of these next week.

4 thoughts on “Monday Recommendations #5

  1. Danni Mae May 19, 2015 / 7:22 pm

    Dangerous Girls sounds good, I’ve always loved psycho thrillers. I think that’s the only genre where I like both movies and books with the same style. Especially if it has a great ending!

    • iloveheartlandx May 19, 2015 / 7:30 pm

      It’s one of the most twisted books I’ve ever read, I’m sure you’d love it!

Leave a Reply

