Friday Favourites #5

For my Friday Favourites this week I’ve decided to focus on one of my favourite books (since I haven’t done a favourite book on my Friday Favourites yet), and that book is My Sister’s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult.

imageMost of you probably already know what this book is about, it’s pretty well known by now and there has been a movie, but for those that don’t, basically it is about the Fitzgerald family. Brian and Sara Fitzgerald’s daughter Kate has a rare type of leukaemia, and in order to save her life, they have another daughter, a “saviour sibling” Anna, who is a perfect match for Kate, and so can be used for spare parts in order to treat Kate’s cancer. She decides at 13 that she no longer wants to donate parts of herself to Kate and sues her parents for the rights to her own body.

This was my first ever Jodi Picoult story, I read it when I was thirteen. I loved the complex characters, and the way the difficult family relationships between the Ftizgeralds were portrayed. I loved the sisterly bond between Anna and Kate. I loved Anna, this girl who loves her sister so much but desperately wants her own identity as hers has been tangled up with Kate for so long. I felt so bad for Jesse who had clearly been neglected in favour of his sick sister and her saviour, and I really enjoyed reading his chapters. The writing was beautiful, Jodi Picoult has a way of using words that is just amazing and I fell in love with it from the very first book I read (this one).

I liked the way that the story made me think about issues that I’d never really considered before, and this is true for all Jodi Picoult’s books, you come away learning things you never knew before and having formed an opinion on something that you never thought you’d have an opinion on. And even though I hated the ending at the time, it ended the way it needed to, the way all the characters needed it to, and I was so pissed when they changed the ending in the movie! Part of the beauty of this book is in it’s ending I think. I don’t really cry at books (I feel sad of course, but I don’t cry) but I came pretty damn close with this book.

If you haven’t read it already please do, it’s a beautiful story with complex characters and difficult issues that are handled with great care and compassion, and Jodi Picoult’s writing is so beautiful. This is a book that I know will stick with me for a long time and sets the bar for other books that deal with cancer now. I don’t think anything will ever touch me quite as much as the ending of this book did. Also this is one of the books that I got signed by Jodi Picoult when I went to a book event for Leaving Time last year, so I will obviously treasure my copy forever!

So that’s it for this week’s Friday Favourites, I will be back next week with another one, but tomorrow is Sidekick Showcase Saturday, so look out for that.

Leave a Reply

