Sidekick Showcase Saturday #2

Sorry this one is a little late, it will probably be Sunday by the time most of you read this, but oh well. Okay so for today’s Sidekick Showcase, I have decided to focus on one of my favourite book sidekicks, and everyone’s favourite satyr, Grover Underwood.

imageI love Grover because he is such a good friend to Percy, you know he always has his back and he truly is his protector. I love the dynamic between him, Percy and Annabeth, they make a great trio and I was disappointed because we didn’t really get to see much of this during the Heroes of Olympus books (I mean I know we had a lot of it during the PJO books but there weren’t that many scenes with Grover in HOO anyway and nine of these were with Percy. And Annabeth). I love how loyal he is to his friends and how he’s not really an obvious hero, he’s kind of klutzy and gets nervous and starts chewing on cans & paper and he doesn’t always believe in himself, but he always pulls through in the end. He’s hugely determined, to find Pan and make the world a better place and he never gives up on that goal. Plus without Grover, the trio would not be complete, as Grover has skills that Percy and Annabeth need and he always ends up being important. Plus he’s adorable, the way he tries to flirt with girls and gets shot down everytime, his little crush on a Artemis, his love of food..the list goes on. That is why I decided he would be my Sidekick Showcase for today, I think it’s sad how under-utilised he was in HOO.

I will be back with another Sidekick Showcase next Saturday, but tomorrow is another Swoonworthy Sunday, so look out for that.

2 thoughts on “Sidekick Showcase Saturday #2

  1. beckmank April 28, 2015 / 9:22 pm

    I wish Grover would have been more of a part of Heroes of Olympus. It’s a shame we didn’t get to see him much at all.

    • iloveheartlandx April 28, 2015 / 9:29 pm

      I completely agree, he’s such a great character and he was barely there.

Leave a Reply

