Top Ten Tuesdays

Okay so today is my first Top Ten Tuesday, a meme hosted by The Broke and the bookish whose blog you can find here: http://www.brokeandbookish.com/p/top-ten-tuesday-other-features.html. Basically each week you are given a prompt and you have to choose your top ten favourites based on the prompt that you are given. I really wish I hadn’t started doing this meme this week because today’s prompt is top ten all time favourite authors, which is a really difficult category for me as I love so many authors, but I will give it my best shot. These are in no particular order

1. J.K. Rowling-Harry Potter is quite possibly one of my favourite book series of all time, and I can remember when I was growing up that I always said I wanted to be an author just like her, so she’s one of my main inspirations for wanting to write.

2. Neal Shusterman-I figured I had to include him on here, because those of you who are regular readers of my blog will know how obsessed I am with the Unwind series, and I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited about a series that I have read all of the books in a single year, and so despite being a relatively new find, he makes my list.

3. Roald Dahl-This is one from when I was younger, I used to love reading his books and he was one of the authors who really got me into reading so that’s why he makes this list (plus who doesn’t love Roald Dahl?) and I feel like his books have a real timeless and ageless quality to them. I could probably read them now, and still enjoy the story as much as I did when I was a kid.

4. Rick Riordan-I mean the man gave us Percy Jackson! I’ve loved the Greek myths for a long time so when I read these books, Greek myths in the modern world, they were a perfect fit for me. Me and my friend can talk for hours on end about Percy Jackson, a sure sign that the series is great. Percy is definitely up there on the list of my favourite male fictional characters, and the humour in the books is perfect.

5. Derek Landy-I’m not sure there is anyone else who could have written nine books about a magic skeleton detective and made me love them so much. Derek Landy has his own very unique brand of humour which I love, and Skulduggery is just one of the most awesome fictional characters ever created (I mean he is a sarcastic, walking, talking, skeleton with magic, what is not to love?)

6. Jodi Picoult-One of my favourite authors from the past few years, hers were the first adult books I ever really got into. I love the ethical side, as they are always based around a moral issue and really make you think, not to mention her writing is beautiful and the stories always pull me in and some of my favourite books are by her. Plus I met her last year which was awesome!

7. Malorie Blackman-I love the Noughts and Crosses series, aside from Knife Edge which we will chalk down to being a dodgy bridge book, the story of Sephy and Callum is a beautiful, heartbreaking one and one that really makes you look at issues of race in our society differently. I’m not sure I’ve ever read a book with an ending that made me feel as many emotions as the ending of Noughts and Crosses.

8. Sophie McKenzie-I started off by reading The Medusa Project and ever since then have eagerly devoured every Sophie McKenzie that I could get my hands on because her books are just so good! Her stories are always exciting and intriguing and I get fully engrossed in the plot, no matter what it is.

9. Sarah J Maas-Again, another newer author, I only started reading her books last year and in the beginning I wasn’t entirely convinced but with each book in the Throne of Glass series she has got better and better, culminating in last year’s incredible Heir of Fire and I now can’t wait to read Queen of Shadows when it comes out in September.

10. Maggie Stiefvater-I started out reading The Scorpio Races which I wasn’t entirely sure of, but then I read The Raven Boys and Maggie Stiefvater quickly became one of my favourite authors. Her writing is lovely, the characters are great and I am really excited to see how the final book of the series turns out when it comes out in September.

So there you have it-my top ten all time favourite authors, although believe me the list could have gone one of several different ways! I will be back with a new Top Ten Tuesday next week, next week’s prompt is Top Ten Books which feature characters who……. (and I get to pick the end of the prompt so you can see what I’ve come up with next week). Tomorrow however is Wishlist Wednesday (yes you’re getting Wishlist Wednesday actually on a Wednesday this week!) so look out for that.

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays

  1. Maggie April 22, 2015 / 3:56 am

    Roald Dahl made my list this week too! I really want to reread all of his books; they bring back so many great reading memories! Happy reading! 🙂

  2. Lisa April 22, 2015 / 5:46 am

    I know what you mean about this being a hard subject — I really struggled with limiting myself to just 10! I didn’t think about Roald Dahl, but it’s made me really happy to see him on a few lists this week! I loved his books as a kid, and I’ve loved reading them with my own kids as well! It’s been a while since I’ve read Jodi PIcoult, but the ones I have read have left such a lasting impression. Nice list!

  3. sumlynnnguyen April 22, 2015 / 5:07 pm

    Nice choices, there’s also a couple on your list I haven’t read. I want to read The Scorpio Races and The Raven Boys series by Maggie Stiefvater. I have read The Wolves of Mercy Falls series, and I found them okay-ish but still enjoyable. I’ve heard these later books of hers is great though.

  4. Amanda April 22, 2015 / 10:05 pm

    What a great list! I like several of the authors you chose, including Roald Dahl (his short story Lamb To The Slaughter is one of my absolute favourites) and Jodi Picoult. I’ve always meant to read Shusterman’s Unwind series! There are just so many books to read that I often lose track of older books on my TBR list, but now that you’ve just reminded me, it’s fresh in my mind again. Also, Sophie McKenzie’s latest book (You Can Trust Me) is a book I hope to read soon, as I’ve heard so many good things about her novels – I’ve got it on request at my library.

    • iloveheartlandx April 22, 2015 / 10:12 pm

      I get what you mean, I have so many books on my TBR list that I forget a lot of them as well. I actually haven’t got around to reading Sophie McKenzie’s You Can Trust Me yet, it’s in my pile of books that I want to read, but I have so many! When you do get around to reading Unwind, I’d love to know what you thought of it.

  5. Vanessa April 22, 2015 / 10:22 pm

    Picoult and Riordan both nearly made it on my list as well! Lovely picks!

  6. Elizabeth April 22, 2015 / 10:24 pm

    Yes!! I’m actually reading the last Unwind book RIGHT. NOW. Unwind has officially landed on my list of all time favourites – that scene…you know, that scene. So powerful. I told a friend if viscerally horrifying wasn’t a term, I have officially coined it to describe that scene.

    • iloveheartlandx April 22, 2015 / 10:28 pm

      Oh yes, I know that scene, I don’t think I will ever be able to forget that scene. Viscerally horrifying is definitely a good way to describe it! Unwind is definitely one of my all time favourites too! Let me know how you find the last book.

      • Elizabeth April 24, 2015 / 12:50 am

        I just finished the last book last night and OH MY GOD. It’s funny – I’m not sure plot wise that I would usually be ok with how he wrapped up a lot of their stories. But I think the rest of the story and the whole world building just eclipses all of that in importance, so I don’t really care. (Plus I’m glad that that…stuff didn’t actually happen. Or rather it does, but it has a magic fix which I don’t usually like. But I’m happy it’s all ok!) It’s funny because I can’t even say how rarely I forgive magic fixes, but technically he put all the technology for this all the way in book 3, so it’s not pulled out of his ass. So maybe that’s why I’m ok with it too. I really, really, REALLY wish this was a book that was commonly studied in schools!

    • iloveheartlandx April 24, 2015 / 6:46 am

      I had a few issues here and there with the plot but to be honest there was nothing major that I was like “you can do that”. My main thing was that I was annoyed that we didn’t get to see Connor give the letter to his parents because a) I really wanted to see what was in it and b)I kind of really wanted him to stick it to them that he didn’t get unwound! Yeah the world building is fantastic and I loved the story. I thought he pulled off the whole thing quite well, it didn’t seem like an idea that he’d just pulled out of his ass for shock value, and like you said the technology was already there. Maybe it was a little bit of instant fix but let’s be honest, no one would have been happy if it went the other way, and it at least seemed well thought out. So do I, I would have loved to have studied a book like this in school! I’m glad you loved the book as much as I did.

  7. Eileen April 22, 2015 / 11:04 pm

    I didn’t include JK Rowling but she’s definitely a favourite! HP is a classic! Sarah J. Maas and Rick Riordan are both awesome too!! The other authors I haven’t read anything by them so can’t say but hopefully I can try some of their books soon 🙂

  8. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense April 22, 2015 / 11:29 pm

    I really like Shusterman’s Unwind, but I think his book Bruiser is my favorite of his. I plan on picking up the Percy Jackson series soon, everyone loves those books and it’s never too late to experience the magic. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx April 22, 2015 / 11:36 pm

      I really need to read that one, it’s on my TBR list (basically after reading Unwind all his other books went on my TBR list!). It’s definitely never too late to experience the magic of PJO!

  9. readerbuzz April 23, 2015 / 12:08 am

    Who doesn’t love Roald Dahl? And Rick Riordan? Both are fabulous!

  10. spidersilksnowflakes April 23, 2015 / 12:39 am

    HOW COULD I HAVE FORGOTTEN ROALD DAHL? I loved his books as a child!

    – Kritika @ Snowflakes & Spider silk

  11. loca4writing April 23, 2015 / 2:40 am

    Thanks for visiting me on my blog. I loved The Raven Boys and want to read more Maggie Stiefvater. I also need to read this Throne of Glass series everyone is talking about. Great list.

  12. Dreams April 23, 2015 / 2:48 am

    The Raven Boys is definitely my favorite series by Maggie Stiefvater. Not sold on the Scorpio Races, huh? Bummer. Haven’t read it yet myself.

    • iloveheartlandx April 23, 2015 / 6:15 am

      You might like it, just personally I found it a bit strange and never really got into it.

  13. drizzleandhurricanebooks April 23, 2015 / 6:23 am

    Great list! Roald Dahl is one of my favorite from my childhood, and will always have a special place in my heart 🙂

  14. Veronika April 23, 2015 / 2:06 pm

    I really loved Percy Jackson, though I’ve only read the original series and I don’t think I’ll give a chance to The Heroes of Olympus series. It’s a shame you didn’t like The Scorpio Races, I haven’t read it yet but I’m planning on it. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx April 23, 2015 / 2:12 pm

      The Heroes of Olympus is good, but it’s not as good as the original series. You might like it, after all there’s no accounting for personal taste, I just found it a little strange and I wasn’t really gripped by it but you might love it. If you do read it, let me know what you thought, I’d be interested.

  15. lipsyy April 23, 2015 / 9:13 pm

    Great list of authors! I was so tempted to put Dahl on mine too. And I totally agree with everything you said about Derek Landy. I wish more people got into that series!

    • iloveheartlandx April 23, 2015 / 9:22 pm

      I figured my list would be incomplete without him, he was one of my favourite childhood authors, and one that really got me into reading in the first place. Yeah, I love him, I so wish I’d been able to meet him on one of his UK Skulduggery Pleasant tours. I do too, although my friend likes the books too, so we fangirl about it all the time!

  16. Kathy April 23, 2015 / 9:32 pm

    I love Jodi Picoult books, but I haven’t read one in a while. I really feel as if I’m missing out on something with Sarah J. Maas because so many people love her writing, so I need to grab and read one of her books soon.

    • iloveheartlandx April 23, 2015 / 9:37 pm

      I’ve read almost all of Jodi Picoult’s books, bar a few, and loved most of the ones that I have read. Sarah J Maas is great, the books get better as you go through, the first one is only okay, but stick with it because the second one is really good and then the third one is amazing!

Leave a Reply

