Friday Favourites

So today is Friday, and that means my first Friday Favourites post. Friday Favourites is a meme originally from Tressa’s Wishful Endings where you can post about your favourite things in books at the moment, such as books you love, series you love, authors you love, favourite publishers, favourite cover art etc. I thought for my first Friday Favourite I would post about an author that I have come to love since I started reading her books last year, and that author is Sarah J Maas who is the author of the Throne of Glass series.

 

image

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, the fourth book, will release globally on September 1st, 2015) and the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out starting May 5th, 2015). She currently resides with her husband and loyal canine companion in Pennsylvania. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing, and a minor in Religious Studies. Sarah is represented by Tamar Rydzinski of the Laura Dail Literary Agency.

I started reading the Throne of Glass series last year, in fact the first two books were among some of my earlier reviews. I started reading them, as I do many of my books, on a whim when I picked up Throne of Glass at a bookstore and decided it looked interesting and that I wanted to read it. I was amazed when I found out that it started as a story she wrote when she was 16 on FictionPress and then went through several rewrites before becoming the first book in The Throne of Glass series. This was really inspirational to me, as I would eventually like to be an author myself, and it was really cool to read that something she started on a website for amateur writers actually ended up being published. Initially, I wasn’t sure about Throne of Glass, I liked it well enough but it wasn’t my favourite book, but as the series has gone on, Ms Maas has gone from strength to strength, and Heir of Fire, last year’s installment in the Throne of Glass series, was without a doubt my favourite book in the series so far and has left me with a new excitement for the rest of the series and a great respect for Sarah J Maas as a fantasy author. The cliffhanger at the end of Heir of Fire alone was enough to make her my Friday Favourite for this week and I cannot wait to read her new series A Court of Thorns and Roses when it comes out in May. Aelin Galathynius (Celeana Sardothien) is a brilliant young heroine and I’m looking forward to continuing Aelin’s journey in the next Throne of Glass book, Queen of Shadows in September. I would definitely love to meet Sarah J Maas at some point (although her tour dates for A Court of Thorns and Roses conflict with an exam which is annoying but typical) as the Throne of Glass series has become one of my favourites. If you haven’t read them already, I truly recommend this talented author’s books.

You can find out more about her books by reading the reviews on my blog, or visiting her website here:

http://sarahjmaas.com/about-sarah/

Tomorrow I will be posting my first Sidekick Showcase Saturday, but I will be back with more Friday Favourites for you next Friday.

 

Leave a Reply

